Where Does the Time Go!?

Gayle_BozemanFamilyChristian_smallThis Post by Gayle M. Irwin

About 10 days ago many of us changed our clocks, moving ahead one hour for Daylight Savings Time. Does moving the hands of time on our clocks really save time? Rarely do I adjust to the time change very well – it takes weeks for my self-clock to adjust.

My birthday is just around the corner, and it seems the older I get, the more hand turning back timequickly time passes. That’s especially true with my days off from the “9-to-5” job. I’m fortunate to work just part-time away from home, yet my four days away from the office speed by like NASCAR vehicles on the track.

I’ve taken on several writing projects in the past few months, creating newsletters, brochures, press releases and advertisements for other organizations. Add this to my time working at the clinic, and writing articles for the community magazine, and I’m spending more than 40 hours each week working for others, even though much of that work is writing. The additional money comes in handy, but my own writing projects suffer from neglect. Because, of course, there is also time spent cooking, taking care of my pets, and cleaning house (well, actually, not much time cleaning house these days!). Time slips away like water through a drain. Is there enough time to write for others, earning money, and for my personal writing projects?

Time management is a trait many employers desire; it’s a trait I believe I used to possess. Afterall, I was the editor of a small town paper with only one additional employee, and yet faithfully we interviewed people, wrote stories, took photos, gathered and created ads, set the layout of pages, printed and distributed the paper, and took phone calls and met with clients and readers. Granted, we worked nearly 75 hours a week and, at that time, I was 20 years younger, so I still had energy to take care of my home and spend time with friends.

As writers, we need to manage our time. We may also need to turn down a project that pays in order to not let our own writing lapse. Or, we may choose to forgo our own endeavors in order to make ends meet during a tough economic season in our home life. Or, we may choose to arise an hour earlier, or stay up an hour later, so as to not neglect our own writing while working for others. It’s a personal choice, but sometimes choices need to be made. We also need balance, juggling family, friends, home, work, writing… We also need to rest; we need “downtime”. We need to listen to our own clocks and discover, if we don’t already know, when our best creative time is and how long we can endure pushing GetUpourselves. For example, I am best between 5:30 am and 12:30 pm.; afternoons are not my most creative. Therefore, I try to rise at 5:15, get coffee and meditate, then start my day at 5:30 when my household is quiet. I have discovered I can push myself to work, write, think, develop, etc. until 6 pm, but then I get aggravated more easily and patience evaporates more quickly. So, I’ve learned to shut down no later than 6, and I try to shut down by 4, especially if I’ve been going since 5’ish in the morning. One needs to learn one’s own clock, respect it, and shut it down when the batteries run low… and before someone gets hurt!

When do you find the best time to write? How do you juggle your writing duties with your other responsibilities? Have you come to learn more about yourself and your ability to time manage and multi-task?

DucksMy larger, time-zapping projects come to a close later this month; I plan to spend Easter weekend at a friend’s ranch basking in the serenity, the river humming nearby, no cell phone or Internet. I’ll watch ducks swim, hawks soar, deer graze, and turkeys strut; I may even be fortunate to see a pair of sandhill cranes return to the ranch to nest and raise young. I will be revived by the sights and sounds of my friend’s property, a place I visit a few times a year to be rejuvenated… and to still my own busyness in order to write my own work. It’s here that I edited Walking in Trust… and rewrote the final chapter after Sage’s passing. I’m blessed to have a fine friend who opens her guest house to me for such times I need them, especially as I await the snowmelt from my own sanctuary 8,000 feet above sea level. I’m thankful for these places to which I can retreat and where time doesn’t feel so much my enemy.

I have the same 24-hours as every other human being. Perhaps I just need to re-learn time management… or accept the fact time does pass more quickly after 50.

Woman Watching Clock

 

A Free Ebook on Time Management for Writers is available here:

http://www.thursdaybram.com/free-ebook-time-management-for-writers

Walking_FrontCover_smallGayle M. Irwin is the author of Walking in Trust: Lessons Learned with My Blind Dog and other books about her dogs, including stories for children. Learn more about her writing and speaking at www.gaylemirwin.com.

 

 

10 thoughts on “Where Does the Time Go!?

  1. Very informative post. One of the things I have found hardest since I began writing full-time is time management. I know it’s because I work from home. When I was in the workplace I was great at managing my time. I can’t believe that time flies so fast the older you get – I’m finally having fun! Checked out the free eBook too. Thanks Gayle.

  2. Wranglers says:

    Love this post. You are so right, time goes by quicker after 50 & I have a feeling, it will be even quicker after 60. I have always taken on too many projects. I love this one, WW&W blogging, but I’ve cut way back on Facebook and some of my other blogs. I managed to write 500 our so words in my future novel Sip. I am going to download your books a soon as I get WI FI on my Kindle thanks. I am reading Nancy’s book right now and I believe your novel is next in line. Cher’ley

  3. Love this! Now that I’m sixty, time just seems to slip away and I don’t get as much done. Fortunately now, I don’t have to work so much and I can spend more time on my writing. Thanks! Barb

  4. Thanks for your comments, ladies — I anticipate my mother’s words (she is nearly 75), “Just wait a few more years — you think the time goes by fast now…!” Juggling the “9to5”, writng for our community magazine, working (contract) for Wyoming Writers, Inc., and now this new publicity project… WHEW! I feel I’m in the roller-derby some days! “Time” now to get ready for the “9to5”! Thanks again for your comments — I appreciate being part of this group!

  5. Mike Staton says:

    When I was a kid, a summer day seemed to last forever and when mom called out that it was dinner time, I always dallied, not wanting to leave my friends. Nowadays, it sometimes seems like I’m on skis speeding down the hill toward the cemetery gate. Hey, God, slow things down a bit please, Heaven can wait.

  6. renawomyn says:

    We have so many things on our mind, that it is difficult to not be thinking about what is next. When I shut the chatter off the days go by much slower. Easy to say, hard to do.

  7. Nancy Jardine says:

    Hi Gayle. It’s my lack of time management which is why this response is coming so late!
    I have too many irons in the fire and am not managing to juggle well. Your post is definitley a topcal one for many of us – authors or otherwise. Mike’s comment about childhood days is also very apt – they did seem to be so long sometimes but now? No way! I’m trying not to feel guilty when I can’t repsond to all the groups i’ve joined on a regular (every couple of days) basis.

    • I SO RELATE, Nancy! I took on this extra “job”, helping a group with publicity, at the same time the Wyoming Writers, Inc., brochure needed to get to the printer. Now that it is with the printer, I can concentrate on the publicity, which thankfully is falling into place. However, for a few days I wondered, “what did I do to myself?!” But, I’ve not been able to get to my manuscript again since my college writing class ended. Therefore, “an escape” is planned Easter weekend: to my friend’s ranch 70 miles north of town where my cell phone doesn’t work and there’s no Internet — just me, my dogs, some wildlife, a river, and my laptop… oh, and my friends, who respect my need for “escape”! May we all find some time of solace with the onset of the beautiful season of spring!

  8. Jennifer says:

    I work on my writing, both personal and for pay, during the school hours and while my kids think they day goes on forever, I feel it flies by…in fact, I have to pick two of them up in just three hours.

  9. Gayle Irwin says:

    I have four writing-related meetings this Friday, my next day off from the “9to5” job — I imagine that day will ZOOM by! Thanks, everyone, for your comments — seems we all know the meaning of “time flies by so fast…”!! Here’s to hoping we all follow Linda’s advice and SLOW DOWN a bit — maybe time will follow suit.

Leave a comment