More Than Expected

Jennifer FlatenThis blog is by Jennifer Flaten

My mom is an only child and so am I. Until I was about 15, I lived with my grandparents in the north woods of Wisconsin. There was only one other girl, actually the only other child really, within five miles of my grandparent’s house. To say I had a quiet childhood is an understatement.

As a young woman, when I thought about having children, I always envisioned having one child, which I always (for whatever reason) imagined would be a boy.

During my first pregnancy, my husband and I were out browsing at the local baby superstore. As we cruised down the stroller aisle, he pointed out a double stroller and said, “Wouldn’t it awesome if we had twins.” I remember rolling my eyes at him.

Fast forward a few weeks we are in my obstetrician’s office for my 16-week ultra sound. My husband is sitting in the chair across from the monitoring equipment. While I am, of course, flat on my back on the exam table.

Our doctor comes in and greets us. Before he begins the test, he confirms we don’t want to know the baby’s sex and then he starts the test. He spends a few minutes quietly moving the wand over my tummy. Then he hesitates. From my position, I can’t tell what he is doing and I start to get a bit worried.

He fiddles with the machine a bit, runs the wand over my tummy again and then announces he has something to tell us.

Practically hyperventilating I scramble into a sitting position. Worry wart that I am I am assuming he is going to give us some kind of bad news.

Instead, with a huge grin, he announces that we are going to have twins. From his chair in the corner, my husband starts laughing. Still in shock, I can’t say anything. All I can do is look at my husband and start laughing too.

37 weeks later, I gave birth to healthy twin daughters. Two years later, I had my son. So much for my plans for one quiet little kid. While I have many words that describe my kids (most of them good) quiet isn’t one of them.

In addition to the noise level, I’ve had to learn how to deal with the sibling dynamic. Sometimes, as I watch the siblings interact I feel sad that I don’t have a sister or brother(s) and other times, when one a kid has greatly wronged another kid I am glad that I don’t have siblings.

Sibling!

Sibling! (Photo credit: Gus Dahlberg)

I wouldn’t change a thing–okay, maybe I would ask for a volume control.

Happy Mother’s Day to all you wonderful mothers out there, especially those of you who got something a little more than you expected.

 

 
Visit my website Dragon and Butterfly Design
Follow me on Facebook
Check out my Etsy shop

9 thoughts on “More Than Expected

  1. Mike Staton says:

    Wonderful blog, Jennifer. You made my day.

  2. renawomyn says:

    What a wonderful way describe why Mother’s Day is so important. Enjoyed this a lot.

  3. Wranglers says:

    So funny. It’s odd that twins don’t run in your family. I’m expecting a new Great-grandbaby, but as far as we know it’s a single. Her sister has twins. My niece had 2 sets of twins. At one time she had 6 babies under 6. Happy Mother’s Day-You deserve a day. Cher’ley

  4. Happy Mother’s Day to you, too! What a wonderful blog – I have three kids as well, and they pretty much make my world go round. 🙂

  5. JoJo says:

    Was just thinking of when you were pregnant with the twins and we met at the mall for a quick visit! Happy Mothers Day to one of the best mom’s I know!

  6. You have had your hands full! I have two brothers, no sisters. Two boys, no girls. It’s funny how all of this works. Great blog.

  7. Jennifer says:

    Thanks everyone! I am so glad you liked the blog.

  8. Thanks for sharing so much of your life with us, Jennifer — I so enjoyed reading your post! My mother and I are also only children — and I don’t think I’ve EVER regretted being an only child. I am VERY CLOSE with my mother (both parents, really) and I’m so grateful for that; I was also very close to my maternal grandmother — because of her, I was able to go to college. Because of both my mother and her mother, I was encouraged to pursue my dream (and it didn’t hurt that I had a great imagination either — all prime ingredients to becoming a writer!). Enjoy a blessed Mother’s Day!

Leave a comment