Printing Progress

This post is by Erin Thorne. September 19, 2012 (768x1024)

Many people keep journals for various reasons. They use this medium to inscribe personal thoughts, vent difficult-to-handle emotions, and as a record of special life events. However, a journal is also an ideal place in which to track one’s writing progress.

I recently began to do this as an integrated part of my work. A writers’ group to which I belong has a feature that, once a week, lets us share with other members what we’ve accomplished in the past seven days. At first, my writing journal was strictly utilitarian. There was simply no way I could have remembered what I’d done if I didn’t write it down. By degrees, it became a motivational tool.journal

Some weeks are busier than others. During those that are packed with activities and obligations, I sometimes feel as though I’m not getting any writing done. This, in turn, leads me to feel badly about my lack of effort. To break out of this spiral, I take a peek inside the journal section of my day planner, which is where I enter my daily progress. Often, I’ve found more entries than I expected, and this has given my confidence a boost. On the other hand, I’ve occasionally been stared down by blank pages that I’d meant to fill. This has provided the impetus to do more, and to intentionally make time to write.

Overall, I’ve been pleasantly surprised at the results. I have finished projects ahead of schedule, and kept a more positive mindset about the whole writing process. Instead of feeling overwhelmed, I feel encouraged. I don’t dread sharing my week’s work with others, because I know I’ve done my best in spite of all the demands upon my time. I’d recommend this technique to others without hesitation; no matter what line of work you’re in, nothing lifts your sprits like seeing how far you’ve come. It inspires confidence, and gives you hope about how far you’ll go.optimism

10 thoughts on “Printing Progress

  1. Jeff LaFerney says:

    Hey, Erin. I always appreciate reading about the “journey” other writers’ experiences. Writing can be a lonely occupation. Thanks for sharing your experiences and encouraging me with them.

  2. Wranglers says:

    What would a day’s entry be like? I keep track of different things in different journals, but this sounds like something different. Do you put your plans down or just your progress? Sounds interesting. I don’t have a writing group to share with since I’m on the road. Cher’ley

  3. renawomyn says:

    Tracking our progress is so important or we begin to think we are doing nothing. Great idea for putting it in a daytimer. Thanks for a great post.

  4. Encouraging and inspirational — not sure I can add another “to-do” to my list/plate, but I’ll give it a go! Thanks, Erin, for the idea!

  5. Interesting post. Journaling works for a variety of things but you’re definitely right about the inspiration it can offer. Sometimes life as a writer can get pretty hectic and it seems like you’re doing nothing. A journal is something that can show you what you’ve actually accomplished. Thanks!

  6. Wranglers says:

    Enjoyed the encouragement to keep a journal. Have started then don’t find time to keep it current. But, it definitely is helpful.
    Neva

  7. Wranglers says:

    Thanks for the comments! A day’s entry is usually simple, something like “Outlined a chapter of Book 2” or “Worked on short story for contest”. The writers’ group is online, much like this one, so it’s easy to touch base with them!

  8. Erin Thorne says:

    The above comment is from me, but I must have still been logged in to http://WWW...

  9. Mike Staton says:

    I’ve always liked reading people’s journals and diaries. They are highways into people’s souls, so to speak. About a year ago, I tried to slosh through some of the personal writings of Samuel Clemens. There was some good stuff in it, but it was weirdly organized, and I eventually gave up.

Leave a comment