Hot Cross Buns by Cher’ley

 This Blog  by Cher’ley Grogg

Hot Cross Buns!

Hot Cross Buns! (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hot cross buns, hot cross buns–one a penny, two a penny, hot cross buns. I learned to play that little ditty on the piano long before I learned what a hot cross bun was.

Tune and lyrics for Hot Cross Buns, North York...

Tune and lyrics for Hot Cross Buns, North Yorkshire version (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Tune and lyrics for Hot Cross Buns, North York...

Bread is an important part of my life, has been for as long as I can remember. I sometimes think about the bread truck that used to come to  Grandma’s house.

Excitement exploded from me,  every kind of bread imaginable to a child’s mind, and  my favorite  raisin bread, was piled high on that truck. The bread truck carried lots of goodies. Ooie-gooie cinnamon rolls, a large assortment of cookies and even some candies filled the shelves of the white panel truck. Grandma normally bought the same products every week, but when I was spending a few days with her, I picked out whatever I wanted.

Mom, on the other hand, bought bread from the bread store. I believe the loaves were a nickle a piece, and Mom bought 10 or more then froze them. There was a big difference between bread at our house and bread at Grandma’s house.

Once a month or so our house would be filled with a glorious smell and I often smelled the same smell at Grandma’s. Remember the jingle, “Nothing says lovin’, like somethin’ from the oven”. Sometimes I helped to make the bread, after we’d properly beat it, we put the perfectly rounded loaves in a pan to rise (my little eyes kept close watch)and them we baked. The smell of the bread baking wafted through the air, filling the whole house with the glorious aroma. We plucked the loaves from the oven and placed them on cooling racks.

Then we ate it.

Sometimes, it’s hard to get fresh bread. I used to aggravate my husband because I’d go down the bread aisle feeling each loaf, now he sometimes shops by himself and upon returning from the store, he’ll inform me, “This was the softest loaf.”

McKeel’s Bed & Breakfast, in my novel “Stamp Out Murder” is famous for its food, especially the baked goods. There’s a recipe for old-fashioned “Apple Dumplin’s” and how to prepare them in one of the chapters.

Here’s Aunt Linda’s Yeast Bread Recipe:

 Original recipe makes 2 – 9×5 inch loaves

  • 2 (.25 ounce) packages active dry yeast
  • tablespoons white sugar
  • 2 1/2 cups warm water (110 degrees F/45 degrees C)
  • 3 tablespoons lard, softened
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 6 1/2 cups bread flour

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, dissolve yeast and sugar in warm water. Stir in lard, salt and two cups of the flour. Stir in the remaining flour, 1/2 cup at a time, beating well after each addition. When the dough has pulled together, turn it out onto a lightly floured surface and knead until smooth and elastic, about 8 minutes.
  2. Lightly oil a large bowl, place the dough in the bowl and turn to coat with oil. Cover with a damp cloth and let rise in a warm place until doubled in volume, about 1 hour.
  3. Deflate the dough and turn it out onto a lightly floured surface. Divide the dough into two equal pieces and form into loaves. Place the loaves into two lightly greased 9×5 inch loaf pans. Cover the loaves with a damp cloth and let rise until doubled in volume, about 40 minutes.
  4. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F (220 degrees C).
  5. Bake at 375 degrees F (190 degrees C) for about 30 minutes or until the top is golden brown and the bottom of the loaf sounds hollow when tapped.

As a writer, I hope I convey a deep memory in you through your sense of smell.  I also found this cool site with memories from the late 50’s and early 60’s. 

How do you feel about bread, is it important to you? Do you have memories of delicious aromas wafting through your house?

Stamp Out Murder”.

The Secret in Grandma’s Trunk” This is an especially good book for your Tween Children and Grandchildren.

Fans of Cher'ley Grogg,AuthorAnd please join me on my Facebook Fanpage, that’s managed by one of my most faithful fans: Cindy Ferrell

19 thoughts on “Hot Cross Buns by Cher’ley

  1. Mmm, I can smell the bread baking! That aroma is heaven to me. As a youngster I can remember riding home through a crisp autumn afternoon and entering the house to the smell of my mother’s fresh-baked bread and homemade soup. It’s such a comforting and warm smell. As a young mother I baked all my own bread and my daughter often reminds me of the wonderful Saturday afternoons we spent in kitchen together. I always made a big pan of cinnamon rolls at the same time and shared them with elderly neighbors. I still love baking bread but I confess that I often use a bread machine now. No matter, it’s still the same homey smell and feeling. Thanks Cherley!

  2. I love homemade bread. My mother-in-law baked homemade bread once a week. My mom baked buns. Yummy.

  3. I have always loved the smell of baking bread in the kitchen. It brings back the most pleasant memories of my Mother and Grandmother.

  4. Both my mother and grandmother made bread, too, and I LOVED both the smell and the taste! My husband likes to bake bread also, but we’re not as successful at this elevation as the ladies back in Iowa. But, I certainly give him an “A” for effort… his pizza dough is quite the cat’s meow, though! Smell is important in my stories, too, since dogs use their noses so much, especially my beloved blind Sage — I think bringing out various scents in our stories is important because it’s a sense we humans can relate to but often neglect.

    • Wranglers says:

      Thanks Gayle. Maybe your husband should try frozen bread dough. It doesn’t take as long to rise and I’ve had great success with it. Wish I were home instead of on the truck, I’d bake some. My oldest grandson loves making his own pizza dough. Lizzie, out boxer was a sight hound, so if a rabbit or something got out of sight she’d lose their trail, but she could sure smell out a scrap of food. Cher’ley

  5. BlueBindweed says:

    My husband and I have baked our own bread for the last 20 years. Discovered making the dough in the breadmaker but baking it in the oven made it easy. Cheap and so, so good!

    When I was little, my dad would bake bread as a treat sometimes. I’d help. When he kneaded, he would tell me when he needed a little more flour and I’d scoop it out of the canister and dump it on top. I remember eating basically nothing but 3 or 4 hot slices of bread with margarine for dinner.

    • Wranglers says:

      Hey Blue, couldn’t find out your first name, but glad to have you reading our blog. I’ve never used a breadmaker. What a wonderful memory with your Dad. I remember watching mine bread fish and frying it. Sooo good. I’m that way now with homemade bread, give me a couple of slices and some butter and I’m good. Cher’ley

  6. Neva Bodin says:

    Baking six loaves of homemade bread a week for my husband’s lunch pail was what got me back in shape after having a baby I think! Now, with those babies grown up, I make it by hand once in a while for therapy, and once in a while in the bread machine I picked up for $5 at a garage sale. It does smell like love, honest work, and home! Thanks Cherley for a sensory journey through memory lane!

    • Wranglers says:

      I’ve never used a bread machine, but since there are only two of us, I buy the frozen dough. Still smells great! Thanks Neva and it does smell like work. LOL Cher’ley

  7. Steve says:

    Bread is fundamental to me! There was a time when there were few meals where I didn’t include it. And there’s absolutely nothing like the aroma of bread baking. Sadly, I now struggle with it,as my appetite is fragile to say the least, and as the major ‘bulking’ element, it has to go more often than I’d like. Still, I would hate to be unable to ever eat it again!

    • Wranglers says:

      My husband sometimes has to restrict his bread intake too, but he does love it. I really love bread, as long as it’s soft. If not, I’d rather go without, unless it’s toasted. Thanks for the comments. Cher’ley

      • Steve says:

        Sorry to hear your husband has a similar problem! Yes, it HAS to be soft 🙂 What I hate is bread toasted because its gone ‘a bit dry’ – toast should be thick and fresh 😉
        A pleasure 🙂
        Cheers,
        Steve.

  8. Erin Thorne says:

    Darn it, now I want cinnamon buns! I love food-related posts, in case no one’s figured that out by now… 🙂

    • Wranglers says:

      So funny, you made me smile. I think I made everyone want to run right out and buy the ingredients to bake and it’s still cool enough. LOL Cher’ley

  9. Wranglers says:

    You used to giggle like the Pillsbury Dough Boy. I love home made bread and I love the smell of it. Do you think we could make some on the truck? Mom baked more bread after I was grown than she did while I was growing up. I used to enjoy making bread and rolls when we had the restaurant. Thanks for the memories. Del

  10. Nancy Jardine says:

    I need to eat a lot less bread and then the hips might be a bit smaller. Like you, Cher’ley I’m very partial to raisin bread and I buy from the local farmers’ market. It’s very expensive compared to the supermarket price but the sourdough bread is also so good. I try to bake bread myself – sometimes in my bread machine, and at others by traditional proving but success is variable!

Leave a comment