The Drain

Frank

This post by Frank Larnerd

Hidden on the east side of campus, behind the library is the drain.

Sometimes, I park in the tiny parking lot next to it, when I’m lucky enough to find an empty spot. Most students cross over it late for class, or in a hurry to print something out at the library. Me, I always stop and have a look at the drain.

I wonder if anyone else even notices it.

The drain is easily large enough for a person to fit, made of concrete, and dark. Greasy water, flows from it, cutting its way across the rocky makeshift creek bed to another section of drains.

Sometimes, when I have a break in between classes, I like to go look at the drain. It’s quiet on the east side of campus and you can hear the finches sing on spring days. It’s far from the noise of the union or basketball court, quiet and nice. I’ll stand there, books slung over my shoulder, looking into the drain and think.

Last semester there was a murder on campus. Well to be totally honest, next to campus on the same street where most of my classes take place.

A disturbed postal worker killed his girlfriend and killed himself and when police came to investigate, they found her body in the trunk of his car. He had sawed off her head and hands – and they were missing.

The case has mostly been forgotten about. Campus life moves fast and most students and faculty are too busy dealing with this week’s drama to be concerned about last semester’s tragedy.

But I remember.

I had been in Dr. Alderman’s office the day before, joking about Titus Andronicus, Shakespeare’s play full of decapitations and severed hands – and the next day, I was hearing the reports of the murder over the local AM radio.

They never found her head and hands.

130206_091

So, I stand and watch the water spill from the drain on days when there is no rain and I watch and think. I imagine what could be inside that drain. There could be treasure, or a sleeping troll, or maybe something someone wanted hidden.

I watch the drain and the drain watches back. We both know that the one thing is surely inside… a story waiting to be written.

Become my friend – www.facebook.com/flarnerd

Check out my website – www.franklarnerd.com

10 thoughts on “The Drain

  1. ooooooh, creepy! This is my favorite post yet, Frank. You drew me right in – not sure I’ll be able to sleep tonight. I used to live in Florida and heard tales of alligators coming out of the drains. I was scared to walk at night for a long time. This has that beat all to pieces! Good job!

  2. Yikes! What is in the drain? I think there’s several bodies.

  3. Wranglers says:

    I always look for stuff in water, but not body parts. Cher’ley

  4. You have an admirable ability to evoke strong emotion in just a few descriptive sentences. Bravo.

  5. renawomyn says:

    This again shows what a great ‘imaginator’ you are. Bravo!

  6. Thank you, everyone!

  7. As a child, when we camped in the National Forests, I was always wary of using the bathrooms — I envisioned monsters, snakes, and other “creepies” climbing out the hole to suck me in; for many years, I asked my mother to go with me, and at least stand outside the door. This post reminded me of those childhood fears… your post evokes strong emotion, Frank, things long forgotten, something a good writer does!

  8. Nancy Jardine says:

    I’ve been encouraging my 16 month old granddaughter to crawl through the tunnels in the playforts at the local playparks. After reading this post I might CHANGE MY PLAN to make my granddaughter NOT be frightened of dark places! I’m now the one who’s scared – Frank! It’s when the ‘pieces’ turn up some years, or some time, later that is now totally freaky and the authorities can DNA identify them. I’m not sure I’m made for writing horror! 🙂

  9. awesomewahm says:

    Scary! It’s something beyond me. Great imagination, Frank!

  10. geminye says:

    Great post Frank!

    There is something kind of magical about doorways and portals, and openings to dark places. This reminded me of the sewer drain in Stephen King’s “It.” Once you enter that dark place there is no limit to the horrors or delights that can be waiting for you.

    This probably explains why so many people like spelunking. They hope, despite their doubts, that they may find something unusual inside this doorway into the depths of the earth, one step closer to the inner lair of the dark world within.

Leave a comment