Writer’s Block Is Scary

MyNAMS profile photo2

By Maria Silvo

For the first time, I face a writer’s block, a term I so regularly hear but paid no attention to.  I guess when something strikes you at an unexpected time or when you need something done and you can’t, it is when you really pay close attention to.

Writer's Block

No matter how hard I try, nothing comes. My well has dried up. I’m facing a dry spell … and I ask myself “why?” What has caused this?

The past days, I had been really focused on a set of activities for one book publishing project that I want perfected. I’m enjoying it and, in a way, refuse to leave it for something else. I find switching from that to writing this post difficult and that may have contributed to my writer’s block.

This new situation has led me to read about writer’s block and a handy definition is Wikipedia’s that define it as follows:

Writer’s block is a condition, primarily associated with writing as a profession in which an author loses the ability to produce new work. The condition varies widely in intensity. It can be trivial, a temporary difficulty in dealing with the task at hand. At the other extreme, some “blocked” writers have been unable to work for years on end, and some have even abandoned their careers.

If one is relying on writing as a profession, experiencing writer’s block is horrible and downright scary. I don’t want to be in this situation. Once or twice is good to teach me some valuable lessons but on a long-term or permanent basis? That would mean death.

Writer's BlockThere are several reasons that a writer experiences a block in his/her writing process. Some of these are as follows:

  • Loss of inspiration;
  • Distraction from something that the writer feels is more important;
  • A writing project or assignment that is beyond the writer’s ability that it causes anxiety or way below the writer’s ability that it gets boring;
  • Adverse changes in a writer’s personal or career life such as physical illness, depression, death of a loved one, the end of a relationship, financial pressures, sense of failure, natural calamity;
  • Pressure to get things done on a specified time;
  • Pressure to outdo one’s previous work that garnered acclaim.

What do I do to unblock my writer’s block?

Nothing complicated really. It just means dragging myself to put pen to paper and finish this piece on writer’s block. That should knock it down!

As an author or writer, have you ever been bogged down by writer’s block? How badly and, if ever, how did you deal with it?

I would love to hear about what you have to say.

You may read through me in my kiddie books at Amazon:

The Unwanted Stone

Oolie The Owl

21 thoughts on “Writer’s Block Is Scary

  1. Wranglers says:

    Love your post, Cher’ley! It goes to show how much of ourselves get reflected in what we do like with writing.

  2. I think a person needs to get up and go for a walk when this happens. Take a look at the trees, rivers, streams, and that’ll free your mind.

  3. Glad you forced your way past, Maria. Sometimes it just takes a while to find out what’s wrong.

  4. Ah, yes, the writer’s block. I’ve found the best way to handle it, is to get away from the desk, clear my head, maybe watch a good movie, read a good book, indulge in the act of “nothingness.” Like transition in labor, if you fight the contractions, it only makes the pain worse. We all go through this, a lonely road, for sure.

  5. My best solution for writer’s block is to “force write” by picking a couple of words and writing them down. Before I know it I’ve begun writing again. I think for me it’s probably getting away from the project I’m working on – a change of pace is great. Thanks for the post Maria – enjoyed it!

  6. Wranglers says:

    All I need to do is read a little bit and I’m ready to go again. Sometimes, I take a break, butt that’s not a block.

  7. renawomyn says:

    I simply find a prompt from anywhere and write from that, no matter what I’m working on. It always seems to fit the project. A good post to bring to focus what all of us experience.

    • awesomewahm says:

      I should do that next time. I guess the trouble with my situation was that I was into something interesting that drained my energy and switching on to a new thing made me feel like dragging a heavy set of feet BUT I’m wiser this time! Thanks a lot, Rena!

  8. Good insight. I love the way you overcame writers block by writing about it.

  9. Nancy Jardine says:

    Great post. Take the bull by the horns is definitely one method, walking away for a break is another, but for me it boils down to me saying – is this really writer’s block? Or is it just a hiatus because of external circumstances that don’t allow my mind to be free to create the new? Sometimes when I berate myself for being unable to continue with my new work I take stock. I then realise I’ve written x amount of blog posts, various marketing ploys, and perhaps more personal family updates and I realise I’M STILL WRITING! Maybe not the WIP but something that seems important.

    • awesomewahm says:

      Thanks, Nancy! Perhaps writer’s block is a relative thing. What may be writer’s block for one may not be for another. Perhaps too, how stretched out it comes or stays and how we deal with it vary. Cheers!

  10. […] Writer’s Block Is Scary (writingwranglersandwarriors.wordpress.com) […]

  11. […] Writer’s Block Is Scary (writingwranglersandwarriors.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a comment