Finding Your Character

doris curiosity

A post by Doris McCraw

Actors have ways of finding their character when preparing for a performance.  As an acting coach it is my job to help them learn the easiest way for them to access that information. Many of the tips and tricks used by the actor translate to writing also.

Let’s start with how you find your character.  Some actors create by finding what the psychological make up of the character they are to play.  What makes them tick? How do they think and react to those around them? How does the character sound, is their voice low or high, soft or strident?  Many times clues are found in the script itself.

Other actors find their character from the way they perceive how the characters body moves.  Is it stiff or fluid in movement?  Do they dress conservatively or bohemian? Do they march when they walk or glide as if on a cloud? What kind of shoes to they wear?

Once the actor makes their choices it is on to delivering the lines. Many new students believe that you just say the lines as written with emotion and clarity.  They don’t understand the depth that they are capable of bringing to those lines.

If you want to be believed it is necessary to understand what has happened before even saying your first line. If it is the first line in the script why are you saying what you are saying?  What is the subtext? What is your biography?  The audience may never or need to know, but it will inform your whole performance.

Now you may ask yourself how does any of this relate to my writing? Take a look at some of the questions actors  ask themselves when preparing for a performance. If in your writing you answer those questions you may find that your characters and story take on a life of their own.  The stories become more than just lines and settings, they become flesh and blood.  If they do that for you, imagine what they will do for your readers.

If you would like to study more about the actors process the following books are a good read.

The Technique of Acting” by Stella Adler

“Acting on Film” by Michael Caine

“The Power of the Actor” by Ivana Chubbuck

Getting Into Character” by Brandilyn Collins

For the Monday – Friday haiku: http://fivesevenfivepage.blogpspot.com

20 thoughts on “Finding Your Character

  1. I like the way you wove in acting and writing Doris. I’m not an outliner by any means, but before I begin writing a novel I write an in-depth personality of my characters. I include everything from their early years to favorite color and activities. Once I’ve done that the character comes to live, much the same an actor takes on the persona of the character they are portraying. Thanks for the links – looking forward to checking more of this subject out!

    • doris says:

      I also am not an outliner, but I have been an actor for long time, so I would say I do the same as you,just in my head. .

  2. Good info about characters. Enjoyed the blog!

  3. mmurfy68 says:

    I also approach starting a novel with a strong personal bio on each of the main characters. I might not know all the plot twists and turns that may emerge, but I know the characters.

    • doris says:

      Believe it or not, I do the same for the minor characters, just not quite as much depth. I find that it gives them personality that enhances the story and interaction with the main characters.

  4. awesomewahm says:

    Great post, Doris! Except for children’s books, I haven’t done writing on other genres but still the principles or guide that you present here applies. Still I’m learning so much. Thank you and look forward to your haikus!

    • doris says:

      Thank you Maria, I am glad some of my experiences can be of use to others. Also thank you for your continued support of the haiku posts.

  5. I enjoyed reading your thoughts on how your different lives cross. Viva la character!

    • doris says:

      Thank you Nancy. I do have to admit that I love sharing my experiences, especially if they help others to take a new look at things,

  6. Wranglers says:

    Doris, you are so spot on. You also have perfect form on the blog and Frank did too on his blog. I’m with Michael and Linda. I know my characters well and sometimes I act out their parts. I too develop the minor characters. I’m an outliner-a loose one. I write 3 points per chapter-if they come to me, some chapters may have one point and some may have 5. My finished chapters may have nothing to do with the outline, but it helps to avoid a sagging middle, for me. Cher’ley

    • doris says:

      Cherley, thank you. When we write the murder mystery scripts we always list each characters motive, I really helps to drive the story and keep the action going, Of course having good actors to bring those characters to life helps also,. . Keep up the good work.

  7. Here in Casper, Wyoming, there is an acting group called Painted Past Productions; the actors portray historical characters from our community and conduct tours of town. I joined them a few times, trying my hand at characterization, but the acting bug never “bit” me. I admire people who become someone else. Though I write about real situations, my children’s book characters are dogs, and I still need to “find” them to bring them to life on paper. We writers learn so much from one another, and from other life experiences — thanks for sharing your thoughts and insights, Doris!

  8. Wranglers says:

    I was on an island in WV several years ago. We dressed in period costumes and did our craft. I am an artist and I painted while people watched and asked questions. I’d love to do that again. I’m hoping to retire from the truck in 3 years. Cher’ley

  9. doris says:

    Cerley, Here is to the fulfillment of your dreams.

  10. Love this post. If I were twenty again, I’d be an actor, for sure. Even as a kid, I always listened to dialogue in movies, facial expressions, movement, natural elements that affect a scene, etc.

    • doris says:

      I sometime think being an actor is both a blessing and a curse when it comes to writing. I can write dialogue all day long but the internal takes a bit longer. You know you are never too old to ‘trod the boards’ Sherry!

Leave a comment