Starting Over

Jennifer FlatenThis post by Jennifer Flaten

About 50 rows into a new scarf pattern, I realized I didn’t like how it looked. I am not quite sure what I didn’t like about it, maybe the texture or the play of colors, which was a complete bummer because I was so excited to use the yarn (I’d been lusting after that particular yarn for a long time).

A basket of yarn

A basket of yarn (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Whatever the reason, even though I followed the pattern specifically and used the yarn the pattern called for I didn’t like it.

Now, I had already invested a fair bit of time into the scarf and I had to decide if I wanted to press forward and hope I ended up liking the end result or ripping the scarf apart and trying again.

I ripped it apart. I won’t lie, it was hard to destroy all that work and it wasn’t even a complicated pattern, if it had been a more complicated pattern I would have need a good cry afterwards.

I can also tell you that when I first started knitting I most definitely wouldn’t have ripped it apart, I wouldn’t have had the courage. I would have finished the scarf and if I still didn’t like it I would have given it away or relegated it to the back of my drawer.

It is one thing to catch a mistake early on in a project, like a particular pattern I worked on that I had to rip out and redo the foundation row three times, but when you discover you are unhappy with it after investing a significant amount of time on the project it can really sting.

I think this is true of anything whether it is a craft project, cooking project (who hasn’t hated a recipe even though they followed the directions precisely?), or a writing project.

Still sometimes you have to start over to make something that you really love, instead of something that you hate and won’t let see the light of day.

What is the hardest project you started over?

Follow me on Facebook
Check out my website Dragon and Butterfly Design

15 thoughts on “Starting Over

  1. Very nice post Jennifer. I had exactly the same problem tonight when I sat down with hubby to watch television. I was knitting away on a pair of socks and had put in probably twenty rows when I realized I hadn’t done the decreases at the heel. Since I’m someone who wants things to be right I spent time taking all those rows out and will start knitting (with the decreases) tomorrow night. That really is like our writing. In my book, if it’s worth doing it’s worth doing well! So I really don’t mind.

  2. doris says:

    I think we all face this decision, and it is good to know others share the same decision. Almost anything I do is a process of starting and starting over, especially writing. Thank you for a great post,

  3. I hate ripping things apart, but do it. I never used to, I’d just go ahead and finish but wouldn’t like it. Now, no matter what, I will rip it apart. It doesn’t matter what it is. If you can’t do it right, then don’t do it. Great blog!

  4. I have one I need to start over — a story that started out with promise, but went astray. It’s waiting. I will get back to it and try to recapture the initial spark that set it off.

  5. Wranglers says:

    Love your format and photos. I never knitted, but I crocheted and did needle work. And as an artist, I understand about wanting to use certain colors. I’ve torn out many a row of stitches. I have a hard time starting over on anything, Once I’ve done something, it’s however it is. Unless like you said, it was early into it. Cher’ley

  6. Amen to that. It takes courage to tear apart work and start over again. I’ve been there many times. As indicated in your blog, your lesson learned applies to the entire creative process. Thanks. Sherry.

  7. Nancy Jardine says:

    Regarding your lovely scarf story, I can vaguely recall being around 8 or 9 years old. My class knitting activity was a long scarf, each child expected to produce a masterpiece. I was already quite good at knitting but the catastrophic thing was that the style of the scarf had a ‘dropped stitch’ pattern. That meant that after producing a perfect scarf I had to go to first row and ‘drop’ about five of the stitches at regular intervals. Those dropped stitches were continued all the way to the end of the scarf. I hated doing that bit but I can still see that grey scarf – our school uniform being based on grey skirt and grey cardigan with a black blazer.
    Now, I have to spend time this afternoon on my currrent WIP which is NOT the one I set out to write. I started to write Beathan’s story, did around 5000 words, and realised the time-sequencing was wrong for a sequel to my historical novel The Beltane Choice. I’m now writing the story of another character that makes more sense as the sequel. Happy writing everyone!

  8. I thought it was just me! My OH stands in awe as I systematically rip down a jumper back or front – up to 3 times, until I get it right. My problem is that here in France knitting wool is horribly expensive and I buy whatever I can get my paws on. Often I have to adapt English knitting patterns (don’t even ask about French ones!) using thinner or thicker needles, working to larger or smaller size etc … I won’t continue if it isn’t looking right . THANK YOU – I feel much less lonely now;

  9. Great post. Sometimes it hurts to start over, but it always feels better to do something right.

Leave a comment